Student Award

About the Award

Each year, we offer an award to a Nova Scotia post-secondary student enrolled in a social sciences program with a focus on social justice. The award will help the student with their post-secondary education costs.

A minimum of one (1) $500 award will be provided. Award winner will be announced at our Annual General Meeting. The award winner will also receive a one (1) year membership to both the Nova Scotia Criminal Justice Association and the Canadian Criminal Justice Association.

This page will be is subject to change and may be updated each year as the application process gets underway. 

Questions & Submissions

If you have any questions regarding the application process, complete the form below or contact us at:

Applications can be submitted using the form below or by mail to:

  • Nova Scotia Criminal Justice Association
  • Att: Awards Committee
  • 1-541 Sackville Drive
  • Lower Sackville, NS B4C 2S1


This award is open to post-secondary students who are enrolled in a social sciences program with a focus on social justice (such as law, criminal justice, social work, sociology, or forensic psychology). Applicants must be enrolled in a Nova Scotian institution and be in good standing.

Past recipients are not eligible to re-apply.


Applicants must submit a complete application package by the deadline.

Application package must include:

  • a cover letter;
  • the essay;
  • transcript from the applicant’s post-secondary institution (scan/photocopy is acceptable); and
  • applicant’s current resume with the name and contact information for one reference.


Each applicant must submit a short essay. Essays should be between 250 and 500 words. Essays should be typed not handwritten.

Applicants should write about how their studies and community involvement directly assist in resolving problems that derive from criminal actions and at-risk behaviours.

Questions & Submissions

Previous Student Award Recipients

Recipients College/University Year
Leah Crowell Dalhousie University  2017-2018
Emma MacIntosh Saint Mary’s University  2016-2017
Fenessa Williams Dalhousie University  2015-2016
Harry Ezenibe Saint Mary’s University  2014-2015
Tyler Spencer Saint Mary’s University  2013-2014
Andrea Ennis Acadia University  2013-2014
Lindsay Wright Saint Mary’s University  2012-2013
Brian Fells NSCC Yarmouth  2012-2013
LaMeia Reddick Dalhousie University  2011-2012
Garnet Estabrooks NSCC Truro  2011-2012
Glentine Wattley N/A  2010-2011